Purdue Trustees Approve Promotions for 13 Purdue University Northwest Faculty Members

By: Purdue University Northwest Last Updated: May 11, 2017

Purdue-Northwest-colorThe Purdue University Board of Trustees recently approved the promotion of 13 Purdue University Northwest faculty members. These promotions become effective with the start of the 2017-18 academic year.

Academic tenure is acquired on promotion to the rank of associate professor. Candidates promoted to this rank have accumulated a record of accomplishments and show promise of continued professional growth and recognition.

Faculty members promoted to full professor have achieved a significant record in all three areas of accomplishments: learning, discovery and engagement.

Full professors
Promoted to full professor were Carin Chuang of Munster (Information Systems), Masoud Fathizadeh of Oak Brook Ill., (Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology), Emily Hixon of Hebron (Education), David Nalbone, of Valparaiso, (Psychology), John Spores of Valparaiso, (Psychology), Kathleen Tobin, of Hammond (History) and Hairong Zhao, of Munster (Computer Science).

Associate professors
Those promoted to associate professor were Ricardo Calix of Schererville (Computer Information Technology), Magesh Chandramouli of Schererville (Computer Graphics Technology), Tae-Hoon Kim of Munster (Computer Information Technology), Manghui Tu of Munster (Computer Information Technology), Florian Vauleon of Portage (French) and Chen Ye of Highland (Information Systems).

Purdue University Northwest
Purdue University Northwest (PNW), a comprehensive regional university within the Purdue University system, has two Northwest Indiana campuses in Hammond and Westville. With more than 15,000 students enrolled last fall and nearly 70 undergraduate and graduate degree programs, Purdue Northwest is Indiana’s fifth largest public university.