Career and Technical Education Students Honored

By: Michigan City Area Schools Last Updated: May 10, 2017

The LaPorte County Career and Technical Education program at the A.K. Smith Career Center in Michigan City held its 2017 Awards Program on Wednesday, May 3. During the program, returning members of the Technical Honor Society received a tassel to be worn at their high school graduations, and new students were inducted. Several students were also honored with scholarships and awards.

The purpose of the Technical Honor Society is to honor and recognize students who participate in the study of technology and who achieve excellence in their chosen Career and Technical Field. These students demonstrate that technical education is a viable, practical, and challenging educational path.

The May 3 ceremony, led by Director of Career and Technical Education Audra Peterson, featured four guest speakers, who each addressed a pillar of the society. They included:

The following 38 students were inducted into the Society, representing six area high schools. The schools include Lacrosse High School (LCHS), LaPorte High School (LPHS), Michigan City High School (MCHS), New Prairie High School (NPHS), South Central High School (SCHS), Westville High School (WVHS).

Automotive Technology
Dylan Sharp (LCHS), Jordan Leaner (MCHS), Bruce VanWanzeele (NPHS)

Construction Technology
Conner Conklin (MCHS), Myia Havis (MCHS), Zachary Decker (NPHS), Jacob Wells (NPHS)

Isabeau Davis (LPHS), Angelica Barth (MCHS), Hayley Meyers (WVHS)

Criminal Justice
Mariam Davis (MCHS), Cailyn Harrison (MCHS), Shane Burns (NPHS), Sawyer Laffoon (NPHS), Barbara Stanish (NPHS)

Culinary Arts
Kayli Caudill (MCHS)

Early Childhood Education
Hailey Aubin (LPHS), Emily Lachiewicz (LPHS), Tiffany Arndt (LPHS), Heather Carter (LPHS)

Garrett Kubaszyk (LPHS)

Energy Academy
Brandon Kiel (LCHS), Logan Goolsby (MCHS), Gerald Randle (MCHS), Dylan Bradburn (NPHS)

Health Careers Academy
Kayla Peo (LPHS), Alexis Dickey (MCHS), Hannah Esmeyer (MCHS), La'Navia Jackson (MCHS), Korbin Williams (MCHS), Amelia Kessler (SCHS), Kennedy Selman (SCHS), Sara Wood (SCHS), Shannon Bhullar (LPHS), Thalia Garcia (LPHS), Celia Ruiz (LPHS)

Modern Machine Technology
Ameer Hoskins (MCHS)

Mandy Cannan (MCHS)

Career-and-Technical-Education-Students-Honored-2017_02The students listed above joined the following students who were inducted to the CTE Technology Honor Society last school year: Raymond Alexander (LPHS), Andrew Boes (LPHS), Devin Higginbotham (MCHS), Charles J. Hawkins (SCHS), Nicholas Bertolan (NPHS), Hunter Hagedorn (NPHS), Ciera Triplett (MCHS), Mailen Flores-Gil (LPHS), Rian Coleman (MCHS), Bryana Sanders (NPHS), Alexis Biggers (MCHS), Ryan Kiel (LCHS), Haley Mulder (LPHS), Jarrett Black (LPHS), Pauline Lutton (MCHS), Nathan Spangler (MCHS), Brittoni Stone (LPHS), Lezly Davis (MCHS), Atalia Hardin (MCHS), Joey Walker, Jr. (MCHS), Cole Seifert (MCHS), and Jean'Cyr McCully (MCHS)

Each of the CTE programs at A. K. Smith also recognized an Outstanding Student of the Year. They included:

Each year a student representative from each high school is selected as the Outstanding Student of the Year for La Porte County Career and Technical Education. This year’s recipients were:

Other students receiving special recognition included: