Three LPHS Band Members to Perform with All-State Bands

By: La Porte High School Last Updated: March 9, 2015

laporte-slicersThree members of the La Porte High School Bands have been selected to participate in the annual Indiana All-State Bands sponsored by the Indiana Bandmasters Association.

Jackson Kubaszyk – trumpet, Matthew Steck – horn, and Jacob Noll – percussion, will perform with the All State Band. Each student earned this honor by participating in a highly competitive audition held early in January at nine centers across Indiana.

Over six hundred talented young musicians applied to audition. One hundred sixty-seven outstanding high school band members have been selected from fifty-six high schools for participation in this year’s festival. Dr. Andrew Mast, from Lawrence University, will direct the Indiana All-State Band. In addition to the regular Indiana All-State Band, there is a select Honor Band.

Dr. Kristin Tjornehoj, from the University of Wisconsin at River Falls, will direct the Indiana All-State Honor Band.

All band members will participate in a series of activities including seating auditions, sectionals, and full rehearsals from Friday, March 13 through Sunday, March 15. A grand finale concert will be presented to the public on Sunday, March 16, at 2:30 PM EDT in the Elliott Hall of Music on the Purdue University West Lafayette campus.

Mickey Stisher, Director of Music at LaPorte High School, is the Past President of the Indiana Bandmasters Association.