PNC Chancellor Earns NIPSCO Luminary Award

James-DworkinPurdue University North Central Chancellor Dr. James B. Dworkin was among four local community leaders receiving a NIPSCO Luminary Award. The awards were presented in conjunction with the celebration of NIPSCO's 100th anniversary.

The Luminary Awards recognize those who have acted with integrity, faith and confidence on behalf of the community, as well as being a catalyst for creation of positive leadership in Indiana and the Northern Indiana region. NIPSCO made a $1,000 contribution to each award winner's charity of choice.

Individuals and organizations were nominated by members of NIPSCO's Community Advisory Panels in the categories of education, environment, emergency response and excellence in community leadership.

Dworkin earned the Luminary Education Award. As stated by NIPSCO, "Chancellor James Dworkin is recognized for the partnerships he has initiated with local school corporations that encouraged and supported science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) projects in grades K - 12. Under his leadership, the Purdue North Central campus has become a change agent, supporting initiatives that emphasize and support STEM education in this region."

A $1,000 contribution in Chancellor Dworkin's name will be made to Purdue University North Central.

Luminary Awards were also presented to:

Community Leadership Award - Indiana State Representative Chester Dobis

Emergency Response Award - Retired Fire Chief, Howard Buchanon and members of the South Bend Fire Department

Environmental Stewardship Award - Mayor Keith Solderquist, Lake Station

"The Luminary Awards were inspired by our 100 years of service and we wanted to honor local leaders for their outstanding commitment to strengthening our communities," said NIPSCO CEO Jimmy Staton. "Congratulations to each of the inaugural award recipients for truly lighting the way for others to follow."