Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission Elects 2014 Officers and Executive Board

By: Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission Last Updated: January 31, 2014

nirpcOn January 30, 2014, the members of the Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission (NIRPC) elected Brian Snedecor, Mayor of Hobart, to serve as its chairman for 2014. Also elected were Blair Milo, Mayor, City of LaPorte as Vice-Chair; Jim Ton, Chesterton Town Council as Treasurer; and Roosevelt Allen, Jr., Lake County Commissioner, as Secretary.

Executive Board members chosen were Anthony Copeland, Mayor of East Chicago and Tom Schmitt, Schererville Town Council, representing Lake County; Dave Decker, La Porte County Commissioner, and Richard Murphy, Michigan City City Councilman, representing La Porte County; and Nancy Adams, Porter County Commissioner, and Don Ensign, Hebron Town Council, representing Porter County. State Representative Ed Soliday is the appointment to the Commission from the Governor.

Incoming Chair Brian Snedecor thanked Dave Uran for a great job of leading the Commission during the past year.

Several new commissioners have also been appointed to NIRPC’s governing body this year. They are:

Craig Earley, Lowell Town Council
Bill Emerson, Jr., Lake County Surveyor
Tom Goralczyk, Merrillville Town Council
Lori Reno, New Chicago Clerk-Treasurer
Eldon Strong, Lake County Council
Joe Simonetto, Munster Town Council
Randy Niemeyer, Cedar Lake Town Council

For further information, contact Ty Warner at 219-763-6060