Merrillville’s Gaines, Michigan City’s Miller Named Junior All-Stars

merrillville-pirates-logoVictoria Gaines of Merrillville was listed as one of the "core six" members of the 2014 Indiana Girls Basketball Junior All-Stars when they face the best juniors in the state of Kentucky in June.

Gaines will join Jenna Allen and Dominique McBryde of Class 4A state champion Bedford North Lawrence, Lamina Cooper of Lawrence North, Ali Patberg of Columbus North and Tori Schickel of Evansville Mater Dei as members of the "core six" team that will compete in all four games against the Kentucky Junior All-Stars on June 6 and 7.

Michal Miller of Michigan City was named one of the "North Six" - a group that will compete in one game against Kentucky and another game against the Indiana seniors. Miller was joined on the North team by Josie Fisher of Homestead, Jordyn Frantz of NorthWood, Darby Maggard of Fort Wayne Canterbury, Tiara Murphy of South Bend Washington and Nakeya Penny of Logansport.

The South group players are Kennedy Archer of Franklin Central, Alexa Bailey of Bedford North Lawrence, Olivia Crozier of Madison, Jordan Hankins of Lawrence North, Stephanie Sherwood of Evansville Memorial and Brittany Ward of Pike.

The coaches for the Junior All-Stars have not yet been announced.

The June 6 games will be at Scecina High School in Indianapolis, girls beginning at 5 p.m. and boys to follow. The June 7 games will be at a site in Lexington to be determined, girls beginning at 5 p.m. and boys to follow.

The Junior All-Stars also will play two games against the Indiana All-Star senior girls on June 9 and June 11. The sites and times for these game also will be announced later.

The Indiana senior All-Stars will play the Kentucky senior All-Stars on June 13 at Transylvania University in Lexington and on June 14 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis. Both nights, the girls' game will begin at 5 p.m. and the boys will follow.

The Junior All-Star team is determined by the 22-member Indiana Basketball Coaches Association all-state panel in conjunction with its selection of the IBCA/Subway Underclass All-State Team. The selection process allows all IBCA-member head coaches the opportunity to vote for top players from schools on the traditional regional structure of the non-class tournament format. Representatives from each of those 16 regional areas, plus six at-large representatives from IHSAA districts (two each from District 1, District 2 and District 3), then meet to review those votes and finalize the selections.