Marquette Catholic High School Student Receives the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship

By: Marquette Catholic High School Last Updated: March 30, 2015

lilly yaw-2015Marquette Catholic High School senior, Rebecca Yaw, today received the very prestigious Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Rebecca’s guardians are Mr. & Mrs. Todd Weist of LaPorte, Indiana.

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program provides full-tuition, required fees, and a special allocation of up to $900 per year for required books and equipment for four years of undergraduate study leading to a baccalaureate degree at any public or private college or university in Indiana accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.

Receiving the Lilly Endowment Scholarship is a privilege and an honor for a student that far exceeds its monetary value. Therefore, the Scholarship Selection Committee, comprised of volunteers from throughout LaPorte County, seeks to select the two most outstanding LaPorte County students among those who apply. Service to others, demonstrated leadership, and academic performance are key.

According to the selection committee, it was Rebecca’s drive and dedication that set her apart from the rest.

Rebecca completed her studies at Marquette Catholic High School in December and immediately enrolled in courses at Purdue North Central. She plans to study Veterinary Medicine. Now that she has received this award, her options are wide open. Rebecca will now apply to Purdue University in West Lafayette and the University of Notre Dame.

Marquette’s Principal James G. White states, “Rebecca is a stellar student. She is self-driven, selfmotivated and always, always wants to give her best. I am so very proud of her. Rebecca has earned this for herself and that alone is an awesome example of her commitment to her education.

This has been quite a year, academically, for our school. The Class of 2015 has two National Merit Semi-Finalists and a Regional Indiana Academic All-Star and now a Lilly Scholar. What an accomplishment for our students and our school.”