La Porte, Starke hospitals Announce Colleagues of the Year

La-Porte-and-Starke-hospitals-Announce-Colleagues-of-the-Year-2018_01 La Porte and Starke hospitals have announced their 2018 selections for Colleagues of the Year, honoring individuals who have been nominated both by patients and their peers for providing excellent, compassionate care and service to the community. The winners are as follows:

Tami Yarbough, Colleague Health – Colleague of the Year, La Porte Hospital. Yarbough has been with the organization for more than 22 years, and was described as kind and helpful to everyone who crosses her path. She is well-known for sending colleagues thoughtful cards and gifts for things such as birthdays, surgeries, and new babies.

La-Porte-and-Starke-hospitals-Announce-Colleagues-of-the-Year-2018_02 Linda Tunis, Administrative Assistant – Colleague of the Year, Starke Hospital. Tunis has been with the organization for nearly 20 years, and is known as the eyes, ears, and helpful hand to Starke Hospital. She has been described as always willing to help with a smile, and she volunteers frequently in the community on behalf of the hospital.

Gena DeMuth, Director of Risk Management, Infection Prevention/Patient Safety Officer, Civil Rights Coordinator – Non-clinical Manager of the Year for La Porte and Starke hospitals. DeMuth is well-known for her reliability and attention to detail and follow-through, and is always ready to jump in to help, with a smile on her face. She has been with the organization for about five years, having previously served as a nurse in the emergency department.

Ganese Cincoski, Director of Nursing – Clinical Manager of the Year for La Porte and Starke hospitals. Cincoski was recongized by her peers for oustanding commitment t her staff and patienst, and is considred an excellent role model for those who want to progress in their healthcare careers. She began her career more than 33 years ago, and has moved from certified nursing assisant, to registered nurse, to a director of nursing.

Yarbough, Tunis, DeMuth, and Cincoski were chosen from a wide list of candidates, making the decision difficult. Nominees this year were: Andrea Back, Ahmad Behrouzi, Erika Brunjes, Tamara Byrd, Katie Carrier, Ron Knickrhehm, Treva Richerson, Erin Snyder, John Shellhart and Jerrica Wade.

La-Porte-and-Starke-hospitals-Announce-Colleagues-of-the-Year-2018_03 Ashley Boswell, a registered nurse in the Emergency Department at La Porte Hospital, was awarded nursing’s highest honor – The Daisy Award. Boswell was nominated by a patient family member for providing extraordinary care to her mother who sought treatment for a high fever, with a later diagnosis of sepsis and pneumonia. Boswell knew that timing was everything. “Not only did Ashley exhibit the best nursing professionalism I’ve ever experienced, but she did it all with calmness, kindness and humor,” said the family member in the nomination form.