La Porte Cross Country Athletes Win Conference MVPs

La Porte High School cross country athletes Anthony Didion and Elena Lancioni were each named the 2013 Most Valuable Player of the Duneland Athletic Conference men's and women's cross country teams, respectively.


Lancioni, who also the conference's first place Slicer team, led a group of 12 voted to the All-DAC women's conference team, joined Kailee Schoof and Kristin Cave on the team. In addition, Kayla McGurk (Crown Point), Michaela Gazdich and Allison Mundell (Valparaiso), Sarah Hunsley and Megan Zajac (Lake Central), Rebecca Timm, Rhyan Sloan, Haley Orshonsky and Kyra Ball (Portage) were named all-conference.

La Porte placed first in conference as a team, and were followed by Portage and Lake Central at the top of the conference.

Didion was joined by teammate Sam Miller on the men's all-conference squad. Aristotle Coulopoulos and Corey Alfredson (Valparaiso); Tyler Gray, Ryan Kepshire and Jacob Langbhen (Crown Point); Zach Hupp and Casey Garvey (Lake Central) and Mitchell Wilson (Chesterton) were also named all-conference performers.

The La Porte boys' team finished fourth in the final standings, trailing Valparaiso, Crown Point and Lake Central.