La Porte County Lives in the Spotlight

By: Ideas in Motion Media Last Updated: September 7, 2012

A La Porte County Life in the Spotlight highlights people around our community who go the extra mile to make La Porte County a better place to live.

If you know of someone who is going above and beyond, someone who is truely doing great work in the community, in a school, in a church, on a team, or in an organization, send us an email at and we'll add them to our continually growing list of people to highlight in our community.

Andrew Tallackson - survivor, writer, producer, pianist, editor, father

Nicki Caylor - Northwest Athletic Club

Mark Francesconi - La Porte Community School Corporation

Rande Thorpe - La Porte Community School Corporation

Elena Lancioni - La Porte High School

Alicia Ebaugh - La Porte County Solid Waste District

Radine Kretlow - Hand off Heroin

Angie Nelson - NIPSCO

Kim Sauers - Sauers Buick GMC, Sauers Ford-Lincoln

Clausell Harding - Director of Adult Education in Michigan City

Margaux Jarka - New Prairie High School student

Kristen Patterson - Director at the Grace Learning Center

John Hancock - Director

Deb Townsend - Americorps Community Services Labor Liaison

Andy Neal - asset manager for G.E. Capital, United Way Chairman

Paula Griffin - AM 1060 WHFB

Bob Schaefer - President of the Long Beach Town Council

Mike Hale - Michigan City Summer Festival Committee

Dave Hack - Michigan City Area Schools

Marty M. Corley - Michigan City Police Department Detective

Cindy Berchem - Executive Director and CEO of the La Porte County Family YMCA


Betsy Kohn - Director of Communications for Michigan City Area Schools


Wendal McCollum - Michigan City High School Principal

Shannon Barnes - Stateline Stables



Stacy Harris - Blue Chip Casino, Morse & Harris, Active Volunteer in La Porte County

Patricia Kieta - Author of Children's Books


Brian Brophy - WIMS AM 1420


Andrea Wolfinsohn - Michiana Resources, Special Olympics

Bobbi Petru - American Red Cross Organization



Andrew Frey- John Glenn Wrestler Class of 2013

Roberta Rice - La Porte High School Secretary



Josh Arndt - La Porte High School Class of 2013


Erin Parker - La Porte High School Teacher

Mike Seitz - La Porte Chamber of Commerce



Charlie Roberts - Horizon Bank, United Way LPC, NWI Leaders

Jane Bernard - Director of La Porte County Small Animal Shelter



Janie Ulmer - La Porte High School Virtual Learning Academy

Bert Cook - Greater La Porte Economic Development Corporation (GLEDC)



Laura Nirenberg - Wildlife Orphanage

 Paige Pope - Coverage Team, LPHS Class of 2013

Judee Gartland - Owner of Judee's in La Porte


Abbi Fryer- La Porte High School Class of 2013

Laura Krentz - La Porte High School Art Teacher


Tom Coe- La Porte High School Choir Director

 Joyce Koselke- La Porte High School French Teacher


Kathy Sommer - La Porte Service League


Greg Handel- La Porte High School Principal


Kevin Scott- Anytime Fitness Michigan City

Neil Mangus - IU Health La Porte Hospital & IU Starke Health Hospital



Tiffany Bley - Downtown Director for La Porte, Contract Executive Director for Michigan City Main Street As sociation

Denita Ton - Community Services Director for Salvation Army



Dave Woodson - Prime Real Estate,


Mary Lou Linnen -United Foundation


Magi Spartz - Unity Foundation

Betty Lou Nault - League of Women Voters

 Dave Sisk - United Way of La Porte County

Prestin Butcher- Boston Middle School Student


Debbie King - La Porte County Habitat



Ken Layton - La Porte County Commissioner

 Glade Montgomery- Superintendent of La Porte Community Schools

Rick Soria- Vice Chancellor at Ivy Tech Community College Michigan City


Cindy Berchem- Executive Director of the La Porte County Family YMCA

Sonshine Troche- Founder of Worthy Women Recovery Home

Dani Lane- President of the Board of Directors at Lubeznik Center for the Arts

Don Glossinger- Director of the Michigan City Public Library

Diana Dibkey- Executive Director of Dunebrook

Mary Rini- Director of Outpatient Services at Swanson Center

Fonda Owens- Director of the La Porte Public Library

Lee Bauman- Administrator for La Porte County Symphony Orchestra

Ric Federighi- Owner of WIMS AM 1420