La Porte County Career & Technical Education Students Honored

By: La Porte County Career and Technical Education Last Updated: May 27, 2014

JohnsPetersonStudents from seven area high schools were recognized during the LaPorte County Career and Technical Education Awards & CTE Honor Society Induction program on May 14. The ceremony took place in the Elston auditorium and recognized students from Lacrosse High School (LCHS), LaPorte High School (LPHS), Michigan City High School (MCHS), New Buffalo High School (NBHS), New Prairie High School (NPHS), South Central High School SCHS and Westville High School (WVHS).

LaPorte County CTE Director Audra Peterson opened the event by thanking the many educators, parents, community leaders and business partners in attendance. She noted that this school year the CTE Program, which is based at the A. K. Smith Career Center in Michigan City, expanded its offerings to include a program in Criminal Justice and Law and a “Jobs for America’s Graduates” program. CTE also entered partnerships with the Indiana Kentucky Carpenters Union for Construction Technology, and with NIPSCO for an Energy Academy that will open next school year.

Guest speakers at the CTE awards and induction event included Ivy Tech Vice Chancellor Rick Soria (on “Excellence”), LaPorte County Adult Education Director Clausell Harding (on “Character”), GAF Plant Manager Denby Snell (on “Technology”), and the Arbors of Michigan City’s Crystal Fields (on “Work Ethic”).

During the program, Peterson recognized students who won honors at the Regional and State level this year. They included Kayla Patrick, Zach Weiss, and Shaylah Barron in JAG and Matt Avery, James Wills, Tyler Bohle, Rane Ponder, and John Sechrist in Welding. In addition, she announced that 15 students successfully passed the state CNA nursing exam: Leanna Arndt, Kari Cox, Brittany Culvahouse, Shelby Gaines, Stephanie Garibay-Villa, Marissa Hill, Arica Howard, Caitlyn King, Katelyn Lee, Carly Mark, Virginia Ramos-Romero, Angela Randon, Tyler Spickard, Fantasia Walker, and Tyra Woodard.

Two special awards were presented:

The Jim Wallace Award recognized the student most exemplifying leadership, guidance to those around them, compassion, and excellence in Culinary Science. It was awarded to Gloria Miller of Michigan City High School.
The Brad Cohen Award recognized an outstanding student who has overcome obstacles and gained success. This year’s recipient was Michael Johns of Michigan City High School.

Other awards presented on May 14 included:

Outstanding La Porte County Career and Technical Education Students

  • LaCrosse High School: Brooke Goodwin
  • La Porte High School: Nick Leffert
  • Michigan City High School: Jenna Davis
  • New Buffalo High School: Chris Combs
  • New Prairie High School: Guy Gainer
  • South Central High School: Casey Sausman
  • Westville High School: John Sechrist

Students of the Year

  • Advanced Manufacturing Technology: Cody Bush
  • Automotive Technology: Guy Gainer
  • Construction Technology: Jared Koselke, Zach Rasiuk
  • Cosmetology: Hannah Combs
  • Criminal Justice: Kristy Vanheste
  • Early Childhood Education: Michelle Privoznik
  • Electronics and Computer Technology: Jenna Davis
  • Facility Maintenance: Bradley Kuhnel
  • Health Academy I: Shaylah Barron
  • Health Academy II: Virginia Ramos-Romero
  • JAG: Trent Laughlin
  • Welding Technology: Denver Schweitzer

2014 Inductees – Career and Technical Honor Society
The Career and Technical Honor Society honors high-achieving students who participate in the study of CTE and who achieve excellence in their chosen discipline.

Advanced Manufacturing
Cody Bush, NPHS
Joshua McCoy, MCHS

Automotive Technology
Vincent Bierl, LPHS
Caleb Howard, LCHS
Jacob Jobe, NPHS

Construction Technology
Michael DeGroote, NPHS
Lawton Houser, NPHS
Craig Pickett, NPHS
Timothy Weaver, NPHS

Kailey Ash, MCHS
Hannah Combs, MCHS
Michaella Loving, LPHS
Eliza Toth, WVHS

Criminal Justice
Sam Miller, LPHS
Max Swank, NPHS
Kristy Vanheste, NPHS

Culinary Arts
James Anthony, MCHS
Cynthia Gomez, LPHS
Kaylee Swartz, LPHS

Early Childhood Education
Katelynn Klemp, LCHS
Alexis Valles, LPHS

Electronics & Computer Repair
Jacob Anderson, MCHS
Todd Biller, LPHS
Alex Britzke, MCHS
Christopher Frederick, WVHS
Vanessa Fritz, MCHS
D. Joseph LaHaye, MCHS

Facility Maintenance
Michael Johns, MCHS

Health Careers I
Shaylah Barron, MCHS
Tori Clark, SCHS
Rhiannon Dusza, MCHS
Destinee’ Fields, MCHS
Brook King, MCHS
Jenna Oviatt, LPHS
Kayla Patrick, MCHS
Brooke Prast, LPHS
Tasia Simmons, MCHS
Kirsten Simons, LPHS

Health Careers II
Kathleen Brockenshire, MCHS
Kari Cox, MCHS
Brittany Culvahouse, LPHS
Shelby Gaines, LPHS
Brianna Glossenger, MCHS
Ryan Jones, MCHS
JaVarrie Oliver, MCHS
Gladys Salgado, MCHS
Tyra Woodard, MCHS

Interdisciplinary Cooperative Ed
Jalen Smith, MCHS

Tyler Bohle, MCHS
Seth Brinsfield, LPHS
Ben Deeb, MCHS
Justin Fogus, NPHS
Nick Leffert, LPHS
Rane Ponder, MCHS
Denver Schweizer, MCHS
Dan Silverman, SCHS
Mitch Wolff, SCHS
Austin Woodcox, LPHS

The 2014 CTE Honor Society inductees joined the following high-achieving students, who were previously inducted as members:

Advanced Manufacturing
Ashton Breitbarth, MCHS

Automotive Technology
Guy Gainer, NPHS
Nicholas Pirkle, MCHS
Derrick Price, LPHS

Construction Technology
Matt Blankenship, NPHS
Jared Koselke, NPHS
Derek Pflughaupt, NPHS
Dylan Pflughaupt, NPHS
Zachary Rasiuk, NPHS
Dustin Schimmel, NPHS
Chad Swain, NPHS

Culinary Arts
Rachel Marshall, LPHS
Casey Sausman, SCHS

Early Childhood Education
Michelle Privoznik, MCHS
Jessica Reason, WVHS

Electronics & Computer Repair
Jenna Davis, MCHS

Health Careers II
Leanna Arndt, LPHS
Katelyn Lee, SCHS
Virginia Ramos, MCHS
Tyler Spickard, LPHS

Welding Technology
Matt Avery, SCHS
Joshua McCoy, MCHS
James Wills, SCHS