Hoosier Basketball Magazine Tabs Top 60 Senior Boys

mchs-boys-basketball-simmons-2014Top senior boys' players from the 2013-2014 season have been invited to participate in the 27th annual Hoosier Basketball Magazine Top 60 Senior Boys¹Workout. They were selected from approximately 1,600 senior players statewide.

Ten players that will participate in the 2014 IHSAA State Finals highlight the list of the Top 60 invitees. Seven of the eight IHSAA State Finalist teams have a Top 60 Senior Workout invitee. There are four from the AAAA teams‹ Tyler Wideman and Tye Wilburn, Lake Central as well as Mike Jones and Jeremie Tyler, Indianapolis Tech. Others are Justin King, Bowman Academy plus Bryant McIntosh and Sean Sellers, Greensburg from AAA, Jordyn Bontrager, Westview and Trevon Bluiett, Park Tudor from AA as well as Micah Bullock, Barr-Reeve from Class A.

Three high scoring players who averaged more than 25 ppg are also Top 60 Senior selections. They are the state¹s leading scorer Bluiett, Park Tudor (36.2 ppg), Perry Farrow, Evansville Bosse (26.6) and Grant Evans, Wapahani (25.5). Indiana recruit James Blackmon, Jr, Marion and Kentucky signee Trey Lyles, Indianapolis Tech were selected, but will be unable to participate in the Top 60 Senior Workout.

Statistical evaluation, game observation and statewide research were conducted throughout the season and the 2014 state tournament to determine Hoosier Basketball Magazine¹s Top 60.

Two sessions of the Top 60 Senior Workout will be hosted on Sunday, April 6, 2014 by Hoosier Basketball Magazine, in conjunction with the IHSAA and the IBCA, on the campus of Marian University in Indianapolis.

Boys, primarily from Northern and Southern Indiana, will participate in the first session (1:00-3:00 pm EST). The remaining players, primarily from Central Indiana, will compete during the second session (3:30-5:30 pm EST).

Coach Steve Lynch (Brownsburg) will direct both sessions. Four other outstanding IBCA coaches‹ Brent Chitty (Columbus East), Andy Hodson (Bloomington North), Stacy Meyer (Greenburg) and Jason Speer (Columbus North) have been selected to assist with on court coaching.

Both sessions are open to the public for an admission charge of $7.

Local players selected include:

Bret Barclay, Crown Point

Josh Fleming, La Porte

Justin King, Bowman Academy

Keenan Simmons, Michigan City

Zack VanHook, Lowell

Tyler Wideman, Lake Central

Tye Wilburn, Lake Central

 Pictured: Keenan Simmons of Michigan City.