Cross Country Season Peaks with State Championships on Saturday

IHSAA LOGOOne of the most colorful of all IHSAA state championship events takes place this Saturday as the top teams and individuals from across the state will come together at the LaVern Gibson Championship Cross Country Course in Terre Haute to determine this year’s state champions. The girls race begins at 1 pm ET with the boys race to follow at 1:45 pm ET.

Gates to the course will open at 9 am ET / 8 am CT, an hour later than in previous years.  

Twenty‐four full teams and 40 more individuals who qualified without their squad (208 runners in each race) will compete in each race over the 5,000 meter course with a reputation as one of the finest in the nation.

Twenty of last year’s 24 girls teams return including top‐ranked and four‐time defending state champion Carmel. Another first‐place finish would equal the state record of five straight the school set from 1984‐1988.

Sixteen of last year’s top 20 finishers also have managed to earn a return trip including semi‐state champions Alexandra Dalton of Greenwood and Lauren Johnson of West Lafayette.

Anna Rohrer of Mishawaka will be looking for her second state title in three years on Saturday. After winning it all two years ago as a sophomore, she sat out last year’s tournament due to injury.

The list of boys teams competing includes 14 from the 2013 final meet led by top‐ranked Carmel. The Greyhounds are the two‐time defending team champion and are aiming for their fourth crown in seven years.

Last Saturday’s semi‐state champions – Cameron Clements of Carroll (Fort Wayne), Ben Veatch of Carmel, Cooper Williams of West Lafayette and Set Williams of Columbus North – are among eight returnees from last year’s top 20 finishers.

 Click here for the full preview!