Community Hospital Auxiliary Awards $116,000 in Scholarships to Area Students

Scholarship-winners-2015Community Hospital Auxiliary has awarded 58 scholarships, in the amount of $2,000 each, to eligible children of hospital employees studying for careers in the healthcare field.

Money for the scholarship fund has been generated through auxiliary fund raisers and Red Garter Gift Shoppe sales. This year there also were a number of generous individual contributions as well.

“Scholarship gifts are an investment in our community – an investment in a healthier future,” said Community Hospital CEO Don Fesko. “Through the auxiliary’s scholarship program, these students will someday be able to help us further impact the health and well-being of the residents of our region.”

Since 1992, Community Hospital Auxiliary has provided more than $1 million in scholarship funding to students, according to Marilyn Brandt, chairman of the scholarship committee.

“The auxiliary has been awarding scholarships for more than 20 years,” said Brandt, “We’re extremely proud that through various fund raising efforts, we expect to be able to sustain the program for years to come,” she said.

This year’s recipients include:

DaJaNay Askew of Crown Point (Defiance College); Holly Blair of Crown Point (Purdue University); Daniel Boyes of Valparaiso (Indiana University); Jonah Campbell of Schererville (Indiana University); Hannah Colias of Munster (Indiana University); Jared Cottingham of Lowell (Wabash College); Kaitlyn Crouch of Lowell (St. Elizabeth School of Nursing); Kristen Cunanan of Crown Point (Indiana University); Devon Curtis of Hobart (Indiana University Northwest); Breanna DePaolo of Schererville (Indiana University Northwest); Lauren Doreski of Crown Point (Indiana University Northwest); Kaitlin Doud of Portage (Butler University); Juliana Duvnjak of Griffith (Indiana University Northwest); Emily Eaton of Dyer (IUPUI – Indianapolis); Alli Ferlin of New Lenox, Ill (University of Illinois at Chicago); Carolyn Fiegle of Highland (University of Indianapolis); Jenna Gabel of Dyer (University of Indianapolis); Joseph Gardner of Munster (Purdue University); Samantha Gawlinski of Crown Point (Indiana University Northwest); Katherine Genovese of St. John (Purdue University); Natalie Griffin of Portage (Indiana University Northwest); Kayla Grkinich of Crown Point (Indiana University Northwest); Chelsea Groff of Crown Point (Indiana University); Nicole Hale of Munster (Purdue University); Aerial Harris of Gary (Indiana University Northwest); Carl Hehemann of Munster (University of Evansville); Steven Hill of Demotte (Purdue University Calumet); Sarah Hoffman of Homer Glen, Ill (Illinois State University); Jillian Homans of Munster (Indiana University Northwest); Blake Hooks of Lake Village (Cedarville University); Olivia Houchin of Highland (Indiana University); Martin Jansma of Lansing, Ill (Indiana Weslyan University) and Nicole Kaminsky of Hebron (Purdue University).

Also, Ananya Kar of Canton, Mich (Wayne State University); Shauna Kelly of St. John (Purdue University); Koste Kocoski of Portage (Purdue University); Margaret Lanham of Cedar Lake (IUPUI – Indianapolis); Courtney Maluchnik of Crown Point (Purdue University Calumet); Michael Mavity of Munster (Purdue University); Mateo Morales of Dyer (Valparaiso University); Victoria New of Highland (Loyola University of Chicago); Mariso Palacios of Dyer (Purdue University Calumet); Tara Paulson of St. John (Purdue University Calumet) Jillian Poplon of St. John (Ball State University); Julianne Rice of Munster (Indiana University); Jordon Rosenwinkel of Schererville (Arizona State University); Luke Rudzinski of Schneider (Indiana University); Amelia Schuch of Crown Point (Butler University); Meranda Seibel of Crown Point (Purdue North Central); Nicole Shields of Schererville (Purdue University); Evan Shmagranoff of Munster (Purdue University Calumet); Savannah Soppet of Beecher, Ill (University of Illinois at Chicago); Clarissa Szafarczyk of Crown Point (IUPUI – Indianapolis); Elizabeth Szafarczyk of Crown Point (University of Southern Indiana); Samantha Tedesco of Highland (Carthage College); David Torres of St. John (Loyola University of Chicago); Emily Klotz of Lowell (University of St. Francis) and Katherine Wilkoz of Beecher, Ill (Illinois State University).

For more information about the Community Hospital Auxiliary and volunteer opportunities at the hospitals of Community Healthcare System, visit