10th Annual Footlight Players Award Winners Announced

By: Footlight Theatre Last Updated: August 5, 2016

Footlight-Players-Award-Winners-2016On Saturday, July 23rd, the Footlight Players held their 10th annual awards banquet at the local Moose Family Center in Michigan City. After a cocktail hour, delicious dinner and silent auction the award ceremony took place under the helm of the ever humorous emcee, Mike McCalment. The first award of the evening was the induction of Lee Meyer into The Hall Of Fame. Throughout the evening the presentations were interrupted by excerpts of the six major productions of the past season along with a “Hidden Talent” certificate given to a back stage nominee for each production that had been selected by the cast and director. The recipients of these certificates were:

The following categories were voted on by a committee of 17 viewers who saw all six of the season productions and nominated the top three contenders including any ties.

The remaining lucky winners were:

  • Hair Design - Debbie Bartholomew
  • Lighting Design - Anthony Holt
  • Costume Design - Sharon Kienitz
  • Set Concept Design - Bobby Komendera
  • New-Comer - Gail Komer
  • Set Construction Design - Jim Snyder
  • Sound Design - Donald Beck
  • Choreographer - Laura Meyer
  • Music Director - Sharon Angelina
  • Featured Actor - Noel Carlson
  • Featured Actress - Leslie Evans
  • Lead Actress - Shannon Wyles
  • Lead Actor - Kevin Mellen
  • Best Director - Donald Beck
  • Best Show - “Little Women...the musical”

The evening ended with the group's current president, Robert Komendera, presenting the prestigious President's Award to a very deserving new member, Joy Davidson. Anyone interested in joining the Footlight Players as a member or patron or request any further information on this community theater organization please call 874-4035 or visit on the web at www.FootlightPlayers.org